When I asked for a medium beverage, I didn’t realize what I meant to request was a super-super small

As I have grown older, I have started to spend less and less of my time doing things like watching TV or curling up to a good book.  It’s not that I don’t want to; I have issues sitting still without falling asleep.  So it’s nearly a miracle when I can sit through an entire movie and actually see the whole thing (for a while I kept wondering why I only remembered the first several minutes of various movies I’d watched with my husband).

And despite how much I enjoy attending church, and how interested I am in the topic of any given day, I struggle to stay awake during any service at any church.  A while back, I decided to pick up once again with a habit I had in high school with my favorite teachers (although back then it wasn’t because I would fall asleep, but rather because I never wanted to stop drawing something). Instead of relying on my friends and family to nudge me if my head starts bobbing, I have started to write and sketch during church service.  It may sound disrespectful, but it actually keeps me listening attentively.  I can take notes on strong points from the sermon that I want to remember while simultaneously maintaining my body and mind occupied with something else.  I have also decided to start saving my doodles and posting some of them for your (however minimal) amusement.  Today’s sketch is a quick response to our family visit to the movies this weekend (I had snacks, so I did make it through the whole movie!!)…

Hope you have a great week!

4 thoughts on “When I asked for a medium beverage, I didn’t realize what I meant to request was a super-super small

  1. Pingback: No, seriously, I R-E-A-L-L-Y don’t like coffee. | La Güera Pecosa

  2. Pingback: Appropriate attire: Men in suits, women in next to nothing (Part 2) | La Güera Pecosa

Leave a Reply

