Thoughts on my marriage to a Nicaraguan

So many comments and sentiments from this Gringuita are dead-on to my own… and then there are distinct differences in cultural perspective that are simply a pleasure to read! This is one of my favorites of her posts so far. If you haven’t already checked out her blog, please do, and I hope you will enjoy them, too!

— Güera

The Gringuita

Our Wedding Day

Someone asked me what it was like being married to Moya… I really don’t think of it as that much more challenging than other marriages, but it’s also the only marriage I’ve been in, so I really don’t have much to compare it to. I lived in his cultural and understood it, so I think that has helped us a great deal. I already knew what to expect. We talked, and talked, and talked, and talked about so many different things before we ever got married. Cooking, cleaning, company, responsibilities, cultural differences, beliefs.. What would be expected of me. Of him. I think it also helped that I didn’t just know about his cultural, I lived it. I carried buckets of water 150 feet to take a bucket shower every day for months. I lived in adobe houses. I used outhouses for more than a year at the place(s) I…

View original post 954 more words

Leave a Reply

